Ashley Nichols

Ashley Nichols

Ashley Nichols - Niagara Top Team

Pro MMA / Muay Thai

Height- 5’7

Preferred Weight Class- 115 Strawweight

Nickname- AK-47

Birthday- 19 Aug 1986

Born- Chippewas of the Thames First Nation

Lives- St. Catharines, ON

Next Fight- 

Management – Ruby Sports & Entertainment

ABOUT ME

How did you begin training MMA? Started training boxing for fitness and as a positive outlet. Then, eventually learned about Muay Thai. I began training and competing Muay Thai and did well and eventually competed in Jiu-jitsu. I always thought MMA is the most challenging of all combat sports and wanted to challenge and test myself as an athlete and fighter.

Who or what inspires you? My mom. Hearing I inspire the Indigenous community. Being on a team who support each other and who are dedicated to improving.

Who is your hero? My mom. Indigenous people who are reconnecting to culture. My coaches. People and teammates who support each other.

Would you rather win a fight by KO or submission in the first 10 seconds of your fight or the last 10 seconds? Win a fight by KO in the first 10 seconds and win a fight by submission in the last 10 seconds.

Where is one place you’ve never visited that you’d like to? There are too many places I think I definitely want to go, anywhere the Ancestors originally were and connect with the land. They are from the Potawatomi Nation, Chippewa Nation, Oneida Nation, and Irish Nation.

Striking or grappling? My strength is Muay Thai/Striking; however, I also like wrestling and grappling. Both are so technical and require so much skill and are another aspect of MMA. Also, wrestlers are powerful athletes.

Dogs or cats? Eventually want to have a few dogs.

What is your dream car? I think my dream car is a bike for triathlons I have always wanted to eventually compete in.

Do you have a job outside of fighting, and if so, what? Not at this time. Also working towards a BA degree in Psychology and Indigenous Studies.

What do you do for fun when you’re not training to fight? Most of my time is spent recovering from training, so I like walking or connecting with nature. Learn songs on the guitar and listen to music/new music.

Related News